Animals, Animals, Animals

I’m sure not everyone will agree, but tarantulas make very fine and interesting pets. They don’t require much care, unlike dogs, cats, or perhaps even hamsters. I can state several reasons why I like tarantulas as pets:

  • They are good conversation pieces. Really.
  • Unlike with paintings and other works of art, one doesn’t have to pretend to like the spider to make the owner feel happy. I own a spider and I certainly don’t mind if people get freaked out. (Try that with a painting. Remark to the owner that he has an ugly painting on his wall and you’ll have war on your hands.)

  • Apropos to the points above: You don’t have to know much about spiders. Hey, we tarantula lovers would love to sit down with you over a cup of coffee and explain away the beauty of God’s creation in the form of a web-weaving, insect-eating little wonder.

Pictured is my little (relatively) harmless Green Bottle Blue Tarantula (chromatopelma cyaneopubescens) named, Suffix. (Click on the thumbnail to get a clearer view.) I used to have two spiders, but Prefix, my phlogeillus baeri, managed to escape from his container and is now hiding domiciled somewhere in some obscure corner of my room.

And in case you’re wondering, yes, all my pets have an -ix ending to their names. I’ll tell you why in another post.

Leave a Reply

