Lord’s Day Musings 120907

Today is a “not your typical” Lord’s Day – It’s my beloved M’s birthday! And since thinking about M makes me think of all things wonderful, I’ve thought of a wonderful way to keep track of my entries: use the date (in six digit formats) instead of numbering the similar entries in an ordinal manner (i.e., 1, 2, 3, etc.). M inspires me even in the little things!

On a more divine scale – since this is the Lord’s Day – the psalm below gave me pause.

 

Psalm 122A SONG OF ASCENTS. OF DAVID.

I was glad when they said to me,

“Let us go to the house of the LORD!”

2 Our feet have been standing within your gates, O Jerusalem!

3 Jerusalem- built as a city that is bound firmly together,

4 to which the tribes go up, the tribes of the LORD,

as was decreed for Israel, to give thanks to the name of the LORD.

 

A lot of people might say humility is not my cup of tea. It’s more my cough medicine. (You know what I mean.) Be that as it may, the psalm above gave me something to think about: When was the last time I really felt happy coming into God’s presence on Sunday mornings? Speaking for myself, I can’t remember. Most of the time, I don’t feel like I’m worshiping on Sundays, because most of the time, there’s always something that comes up to take my attention away from God on Sundays. It could be a technical glitch, or a last minute announcement from people who should know better, but don’t. Or it could just be, well, anything. Mind you, I’m not a lazy git. I don’t wait till the last minute to finish whatever needs to be done for Sunday. Granted the last one doesn’t happen all the time (thank God!) but the point is no matter how hard I try, there’s always something that comes up Sunday morning to take my attention away from God. As mentioned, I’m speaking for myself. I don’t know if other ministers or pastors feel the same way.

What to do about this? The easy way is to shirk off the responsibilities. I could also go the rude route and tell people off for ruining my supposed-to-be beautiful Sunday. I could go to another church wherein I don’t have any responsibilities. (That’s a thought!).

What I do now is to make the most of it. I want to end today’s post on a happy note. It’s still Sunday. It’s still God’s Day. It’s still his voice we hear, calling his people to worship. It’s still his presence we should seek. Distractions will always come and they will always be here (like the poor) to stay.

And ignore the person trying to get your attention because she has some last-minute announcement she needs to deliver.

“Finitum non capax infinitum.”

PS This post isn’t finished. It’s just there to whet your appetite.

One Comment

  1. ang tagal naman ng kasunod!!!

    seriously though, there are times when i wish i could chain you to the wooden pew. ladies and gentlemen, if you do go to our church, you’ll recognize the blog owner in an instant — he’s the one running around during the service. main route is 1.) seat near the piano, 2.) office, and 3.) overhead projector. as an added bonus, you’ll sometimes see him giving last minute, special request announcements. might as well wear sneakers with all the running around that you do. tsk.

    maybe next time i can give you a wig and some makeup and a fake mustache so that no one will recognize you. zero distractions. =)

Leave a Reply

