Pastors’ Conference 2008

For the next several days, starting tomorrow (Tuesday) I will be attending the annual Pastors’ Conference at Cubao Reformed Baptist Church. This year marks the eighteenth year CRBC has been holding this type of conference, and this year is my fourth year to join. Admittedly, I didn’t know what to expect the first time I attended – after all, officially, I’m not Baptist, and I’ve run into very few Reformed ministers outside my circle of friends. I have found the conferences very helpful and profitable (soul-wise). I was never disappointed in the four years (more, God willing) I’ve joined.

A few of the things I like so far:

  1. The conference has had great speakers. Normally, when people in my church say Mr. So-and-so is a great speaker, they usually mean any or all of the following: a) he has good speaking skills/he made me laugh, b) he didn’t make me fall asleep, c) I wasn’t singled out by his message, therefore I can go on living my usual godless way. Usually, it’s “c.” The Pastors’ conference, however, can boast (in the Lord, naturally) of speakers who really know God’s word and who have a passion to teach from God’s word.
  2. Hymns. Frankly, I’m very much tired of churches who try to imitate Hillsong or try to be a Don Moen knock-off. Don’t get me wrong – I’m not saying that contemporary music is bad, nor am I saying that all hymns are perfect and great. We have examples of good, godly and Christ-honoring songs on both sides. I’m just partial to hymns. A lot of contemporary songs fall under what RC Sproul labels 7-11 songs. These are songs that have seven words that you sing the same seven words eleven times. You can actually hear RC Sproul say it here. Nothing thrills me more that singing songs like And Can It Be. “And can it be that I should gain/An interest in the Savior’s blood?/Died He for me, who caused His pain—For me, who Him to death pursued?/Amazing love! How can it be,/That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?/Amazing love! How can it be,/That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me? (Beat that!)
  3. The price is, simply put, cheap. Just Four Hundred Pesos covers the food (lunch, snacks) and materials, plus you get a free hardbound book for each day of the conference. I’ve completed by JC Ryle collection through the conference. They also give huge discounts during the book sale, concurrent with the conference.
  4. The food, while not five-star hotel class, is certainly nothing to sneeze at. You don’t expect fillet mignon at Four Hundred Pesos, but I’ve never been disappointed with the simple fair the staff have prepared.

I’m really excited about this year’s conference. The organizers promised something better than the previous years’ conferences. I’ll give a more detailed report at the end of each day, so stay tuned.

 deohsan-blk-signature-chi.jpg
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

