More Lord’s Day Musings (Lord’s Day 022008)

This is not meant to ruin your day.


mba0467l.jpgI woke up in a terrible mood this morning.

I slept kind of late last night making corrections to the worship bulletin. I had to erase/edit out the printed hymn numbers and rewrite the correct hymn numbers by hand. We’re talking over one hundred printed bulletins here. It was a case of “a mistake that wasn’t necessarily any body’s fault but I still have to make the corrections since I’m living closest to the church” syndrome. Prior to doing the corrections, I debated with myself on whether or not to push through with the corrections. In the end, I did so because I convinced myself that it would be far easier to explain to people why the hymn numbers had to be corrected by hand (complete with marks of the correction tape), than to explain why they weren’t corrected when I knew they needed correcting. I often wonder if the apostle Paul ever had days like this?

To make matters worse, I woke up a full hour later than planned. Although the first thing that popped into my head when I opened my eyes was, “It’s morning already?” I had to rush through my morning rituals (even missing some – shh) because my beloved M and I planned on having breakfast together with her family, and I didn’t want to miss out on her dad’s creamed beef. (Or face his displeasure at having to prepare food only for me to miss breakfast.)

The music in the second (all English) service didn’t help alleviate matters since it was played so loud, I’m still wondering why the band hasn’t gone deaf. I once heard the band members quote some Psalm or other, justifying the use of loud music. I am of the opinion that there’s a world of difference between what the Psalmist considers “loud” and ear-splitting, headache inducing cacophony. Also, why is it that we turn to the Scriptures (and sometimes twist the Scriptures in so doing) to justify what we want to do, and yet hesitate to quote other verses wherein God commands us to do things that we don’t want to do? Like be holy.

Anyway, I would still like to end this post on a God-glorifying note. In spite of the hassles this morning, I was blessed by the worship services. The bilingual service sermon reminded one of dedication to God – “Do you love me more than these?” Touche! And the deafening music notwithstanding, the message during the English service (given by my friend Johny Benjamin) was food for thought (and heart). Touche again!

Maybe you’ve experienced something akin to what I’ve experienced. You could be bummed out about something. I understand – believe me, there are some Sundays I really don’t feel like getting out of bed – and I empathize. However, today is not just another day. It is the Lord’s Day – On Sundays when you feel bummed out, I challenge you to find something to give God glory for.

deohsan-blk-signature-chi.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

