Lord’s Day 062908

Tomorrow is the fifth Sunday of June, the last Sunday of the first half of the year 2008. This means in six months I will be left with a little more forty years of life, assuming that I live to be seventy. “What a dreary way to start a post,” you might say. “For the Lord’ Day yet!” It is intentional.

These past six months, I have come face to face with aches and pains in parts of my body I didn’t even know existed. I timed myself on several occasions, and I found that, among other things, I don’t run as fast as I used to, I don’t climb the stairs as easily as I used to, can’t lift weights with both hands things I could lift one-handed ten years ago.  The other day I looked in the mirror and I saw my Dad’s face looking back at me. Yes, it was a relatively good-looking face, but the sight still caught me off-guard a bit. (Of course, my Dad always said I looked like my great grandfather, but I digress.)

Several months ago, I woke up in the middle of the night with a sharp pain on the left side of my chest. My first thought as I tried to get out of bed was, “This can’t be a heart attack? The pain should be more centered on my chest and should be radiating outward.” My second thought? “I better put on a more decent pair of shorts.” (That night I had on a T-shirt and Teddy Bear decorated boxers; please don’t laugh – the thought of dying in cute underwear really ups the adrenaline.) I had the driver take me to the emergency room where the doctor in charge said I was suffering from a muscle spasm. Either I had a big dinner or had pulled something while working. 

The point of all this? Remember the words of Solomon? “Remember your Creator in the days of your youth,” and all that? Seems there is nothing more powerful to remind you of your mortality than, well, your mortality.

Remember also your Creator in the days of your youth, before the evil days come and the years draw near when you will say, “I have no delight in them”; before the sun, the light, the moon, and the stars are darkened, and clouds return after the rain; in the day that the watchmen of the house tremble, and mighty men stoop, the grinding ones stand idle because they are few, and those who look through windows grow dim; and the doors on the street are shut as the sound of the grinding mill is low, and one will arise at the sound of the bird, and all the daughters of song will sing softly. Furthermore, men are afraid of a high place and of terrors on the road; the almond tree blossoms, the grasshopper drags himself along, and the caperberry is ineffective. For man goes to his eternal home while mourners go about in the street. Remember Him before the silver cord is broken and the golden bowl is crushed, the pitcher by the well is shattered and the wheel at the cistern is crushed; then the dust will return to the earth as it was, and the spirit will return to God who gave it.

How have we glorified God lately?

 

 

Leave a Reply

