Musings on the Night Before Lord’s Day 090709

I’m tired. Saturdays are usually among my busiest days at the office, if not THE busiest. It always seems that there’s something more to do, one more little item to check, for Sunday Service. The funny thing is, no matter how much I “fill in the gaps” (so to speak) there’s still that little something on Sunday that would need my attention. I’m beginning to feel that the more we tie ourselves to technology, the less freedom we experience, despite the feelings otherwise.

I’m looking forward to a good night’s sleep after all this – this little blog post is just me trying to put last things of the day in order. By that I mean, before I sleep tonight, I will be meditating on God’s grace, as recorded in his Holy Word. Of course, meditating on the Holy Writ is no guarantee that I won’t be having what my beloved M calls “my regularly occurring weird dream.” I believe I’m the only one who has had ONE dream, with little or no variations, occur more than ten times. I will try to describe the dream in a future post, but suffice it for now that you know it involves an elevator that CURVES AROUND a building, an abandoned but very creepy basement, a doctors’ clinic, and a cast of characters that would put Shakespeare’s Midsummer Night’s Dream to shame. 

I digress.

Anyway, I will be presiding over the Worship Service tomorrow so I will be using tomorrow’s Call to Worship verse as a starting point in my meditations. For those interested, the service will be in two languages – English and Chinese, primarily in the latter. I usually have about three weeks to practice and hone my Chinese speaking in time for presiding, but this time the usual First Sunday presider can’t make it and asked me to take over. Three weeks’ necessary practice trimmed down to a few hours. I’m not sure whether to laugh at the irony or wail at the seeming hopelessness of it all. (Well, since I can’t cry anyway, I’ll just laugh. Hahaha.)

Anyway, the word of the Lord is my lamp…

 

Psalm 100 For giving thanks. Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth.Worship the LORD with gladness; come before him with joyful songs. Know that the LORD is God. It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.

Amen.

 

 

PS I don’t want to cause trouble (or be on the receiving end of it) so… the cartoon attached to this post is from http://www.uvm.edu/energy/?Page=sleep.html. Peace.

Leave a Reply

