An Interview With Dr. Michael Horton

Dr. Michael Horton spent a day and a half preaching/teaching to a crowd of two hundred  participants in last week’s Putting Amazing Back Into Grace conference. Part of his lecture, and for the benefit of those who  were new or just starting to hear about “Reformed,” Dr. Horton gave a good introduction to what it means to a part of the Reformed Confession. (Dr. Horton insisted that it  be called a confession, and not Reformed Faith, because that would mean it’s being used to take the place of Christian faith.)

The reaction from the participants was generally positive, with complaints limited to how short and limited the time was. (Something to consider for next year’s conference, perhaps?)

After the conference, the organizers and Dr. Horton had a simple dinner at Tempura, a Japanese restaurant along Banawe Ave. There Daniel Yam had an informal interview session with Dr. Horton.

My favorite part of the interview:

Daniel: As a behind-the-scene for Dr. Horton, what was the most embarrassing moment of your life?

Dr. Horton: I guess I have to say that the most embarrassing moment of my life was when I met the woman who would become my wife. It was that time when she walked out of the plane and I saw her for the first time. She was a flight attendant and she was kind enough to fly from the east coast to Los Angeles for us to meet for the first time. She walked off the plane and I said, “Wow, you don’t look anything like your pictures!” Now, my point was, “you’re more beautiful than in your pictures.” But I was so blabbered [sic] I guess I said the wrong words. And she said (afterwards), “I just wanted to walk over and slap you!”

A full transcript of the interview can be found here.

Leave a Reply

