Lord’s Day 061310

Tomorrow is Lord’s Day. I will be preaching in the little church where I’m currently worshiping. Or, to put it into terms that best reflect the brilliant mind of a brilliant theologian, I will be preaching to a small group of people among whom I am currently ministering.

My passage for tomorrow is Philippians 3, where Paul writes about his accomplishments and how he “threw them all away” for the sake of Christ and his glory. Towards the middle of the chapter, he encourages believers to imitate him, or to be “like-minded” in this attitude. Part of my sermon will touch on Christ being our all-in-all, even to the point of suffering.

Would that we always have the attitude of clinging to Christ and finding security in him, regardless of circumstance.

Meanwhile, here is Psalm 122, which I haven’t read in a while.

I was glad when they said to me, “Let us go to the house of the LORD!”
2 Our feet have been standing within your gates, O Jerusalem!
3 Jerusalem- built as a city that is bound firmly together,
4 to which the tribes go up, the tribes of the LORD, as was decreed for Israel, to give thanks to the name of the LORD.
5 There thrones for judgment were set, the thrones of the house of David.
6 Pray for the peace of Jerusalem! “May they be secure who love you!
7 Peace be within your walls and security within your towers!”
8 For my brothers and companions’ sake I will say, “Peace be within you!”
9 For the sake of the house of the LORD our God, I will seek your good.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

