The Fonts

In less than two weeks it’s going to be the end of the semester at FCB (and most other schools, I would imagine). It is the point in time wherein yours truly takes stock of what’s been happening in his life and makes adjustments based on what he has observed.

To name a few:

  1. Next semester I will be more strict as far as tardiness is concerned. If there’re any of my students reading this, be warned!
  2. I will be using the white board less and reproduced notes more. I really don’t enjoy writing on a modified wall.
  3. My cane will probably make another appearance.
  4. More quizzes. Shorter quizzes.

And just to prove that I am a meticulously uncharacteristic and idiosyncratic genius (right next-door to insane), I’m making a change in the fonts of all my documents.

  • It all started with Times New Roman. I started using TNR when I started using PCs,
    Not mine, somebody else’s

    mainly because that was the default font for Windows back then. I used to think (and I still do) that TNR is a nice combination of formal and informal but I quickly got tired of it.

  • Arial came next and as far as I can remember, it was the new default for Windows. Default here meaning it came packaged with Windows (i.e., Office) and not necessarily the font automatically used. Lots of people I know liked and used Arial. Most of them preferred it over TNR because it was sans serif. That means “no semi-structural details on the ends of some of the strokes that make up letters and symbols.” (Thanks Wikipedia.) It was better than Century Gothic (too wide) while others said it was worse than Tahoma.
  • There was one problem with Arial: it was considered a “bastard” font. I’ll let Mark Simonson describe what I eventually concluded about Arial. “Arial’s ubiquity is not due to its beauty. It’s actually rather homely. Not that homeliness is necessarily a bad thing for a typeface. With typefaces, character and history are just as important. Arial, however, has a rather dubious history and not much character. In fact, Arial is little more than a shameless impostor.”
  • What was Arial a shameless copy of? Why Helvetica, of course! People who know fonts will tell you that Helvetica is the way to go, if it’s a choice between that and Arial. Again, Mark Simonson gives a lowdown. To cut the story short however, I decided against using Helvetica because I didn’t have money to buy it. Unlike Arial it isn’t freeware. It comes bundled with Macs, but since I don’t think I will ever own a Mac…. It is a very good font, from what I’ve seen and good things in life are more often than not, not free.
  • Right now I am thinking of using Georgia.  I like Georgia. Unlike Helvetica at times, it’s clear and readable, even at font size 7.  And it has a few more nice things going for it.

So, starting well…now, Georgia will be the official font of any and all DEOhsan documents. If you’re wondering why I’m sharing this, stop. It’s just a phase I’m going through. Sort of like menopause, but in the mind. All geniuses go through phases like this. It’s nothing serious. but I do end up with a good-looking font.

Ciao!

One thought on “The Fonts

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

