Freaky Friday 102210

I promised one of my students that I’d write something new in my blog. That “something new” is now gestating in the deepest recesses of my brain (I really hate how that sounds). It’s a response to a newspaper columnist who crowed about how we should just emulate John Lennon, whose deficient world-view is en-capsulized in his song, Imagine.   (For the record, I really hate that song. It’s right up there with Glenn Miller’s In the Mood as one of the songs/music I wish were erased from human memory.) Anyway, while that future column is still being fleshed out, here’s something to spike everyone’s interest. (Including yours, Ronald.)

Shroud of Turin Stirs New Controversy

You can read the full article here.

Some quotes:

“Radiocarbon dating by three separate laboratories showed that the shroud originated in the Middle Ages, leaving the “shroud crowd” reeling. Shroud skeptics responded, “We told you so.” The Catholic Church admitted that it could not be authentic. Many scientists backed away.”

“‘If you love Christ, why wouldn’t you want to explore the possibility that you have an artifact of his material existence on Earth?’ he said, adding that his faith isn’t incompatible with his scientific training: ‘How I think about the Shroud of Turin comes from the shroud. It’s not, ‘Gee, I’m a Christian, so I’ll force it to be what I want it to be.’ That’s not scientific logic.'”

My response: My faith does not rise and fall on the authenticity of a piece of cloth. Faith is God’s gracious gift (Eph. 2:8-10). I do recognize however that archaeology plays a not-so-insignificant role in many a Christian’s life. By that I mean that they somehow feel vindicated if the existence of Pilate is proven by scientists to be historically accurate. They get all “goose-bumpy.”

So maybe (just maybe) articles like the one I linked to here are for them. Or maybe they see Jesus in burnt toasts, too.

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

