Lord’s Day 111410

“Only Robinson Crusoe had everything done by Friday.” ~ Anonymous

As my beloved M pointed out, I’ve missed a whole week’s worth of blogging. She told me so already sometime last Tuesday or Wednesday, when my regular Monday piece didn’t come out. She told me again a couple of days later, when my Wednesday piece didn’t come out. She told me a third time just a few minutes ago.

Copyright http://compliance.vpr.okstate.edu/

The reasons are simple: Since Monday, we’ve had three days of research related seminars at FCB. That meant preparation and going over material to be used by yours truly, who was slated for two sessions. Because of the three-day seminar, my teaching schedule had to be pushed back three days’ worth, and the resulting adjustments meant that I had no time to blog at all, although articles have already been chosen.

With that, blogging has again resumed.

This Lord’s Day reminder is from Psalm 54.

O God, save me, by your name, and vindicate me by your might.  O God, hear my prayer; give ear to the words of my mouth.  For strangers have risen against me; ruthless men seek my life; they do not set God before themselves. Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is the upholder of my life. He will return the evil to my enemies; in your faithfulness put an end to them.  With a freewill offering I will sacrifice to you; I will give thanks to your name, O LORD, for it is good.  For he has delivered me from every trouble, and my eye has looked in triumph on my enemies.

What a wonderful reminder! What God has accomplished in David’s life, he accomplishes on a greater scale in the life of every believer. while David laments about earthly enemies, our enemies, sin and death, have been vanquished by the God who saves. He has opened our hearts to cry out to him, and he has “heard my prayer” (v.1). Now that we are free (in Christ), we sacrifice (Romans 12 v.1) to him, and give thanks in his name. And while he has not (yet) fully delivered us from temporal troubles, we are comforted by his words (Romans 8) that we have a glorious future in his presence.

As my beloved M would say, “Coolness.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

