(un)Wacky Wednesday (012611)

It’s Wednesday, but this won’t be a wacky post.

Heard about a bus-bombing last night from my beloved M, and frankly (and sadly) my reaction was less than indifferent. I should have been outraged that again, some family somewhere has lost a dad, a man somewhere has lost a brother or a son. I should have been outraged at such cowardice. I should have been outraged that we don’t live in a perfect world. In a perfect world, the perpetrators would have been identified in less than an hour and hanged for their crime. Heck, in a perfect world, there wouldn’t be any bombings whatsoever.

My reaction is because we see or hear things like this everyday. If it’s not a bombing, it’s a murder or rape. Our senses have been deadened by all the violence that we see or hear around us, it’s come to the point that hardly any of us care anymore. Until we find ourselves the victims or relatives of the victims. Then we get outraged again.

What is a Christian to do?

As a firm believer in the sovereignty of God, I know that God does not work in a vacuum. My theology tells me that everything that has happened, has happened because it was decreed by God. My theology also tells me that God’s decrees don’t work in a vacuum–things happen because, whether we see it or not, whether we know it or not, God has an objective in mind. And his objective is not limited to the here and now, but encompasses all creation for all time.

In the meantime, my theology also tells me to “…weep with those who weep.”

Leave a Reply

