Film Friday 070111

A belated entry. Continuing from an earlier entry, where I posted a picture of the Transformers Dark of the Moon flyer, here are some movies which I’m thinking to get (in DVD form, of course).  I included a few blurbs from Wikipedia about each of them, and why I like to get them. The included pictures are copyright owned by their owners.

Armour of God (Chinese: 龍兄虎弟, Long xiong hu di) is a 1987 Hong Kong martial arts action film co-directed by, and starring Jackie Chan. The film features Chan’s regular kung-fu, comedy and stunts, with an Indiana Jones-style theme. Chan came the closest he has ever been to death in this film during a relatively routine stunt; he leaped onto a tree from a ledge, but the branch he grabbed snapped, sending Chan plummeting and cracking his skull.  I know this is a bit belated for me (the film came out in 1987, for pete’s sake!) and I’ve never watched it, to my own dismay. I’ve always enjoyed Jackie Chan, and I’m looking forward to this one. On a similar note, don’t people enjoy the outtakes that are included in each of Jackie’s videos?

Monk is an American comedy-drama detective mystery television series created by Andy Breckman and starring Tony Shalhoub as the title character, Adrian Monk. It originally ran from 2002 to 2009 and is primarily a mystery series, although it has dark and comic touches. Why I like it. It’s a detective story with a twist. While a new mystery is being solved each episode, there is an underlying tragic death that haunts the main character throughout–his wife’s murder. It galls me that though I have seasons one to six, seasons seven and eight are still unavailable. My cousin’s getting me season seven, so that leaves season eight, the last episode of which (finally solving Monk’s wife’s murder) was one of the most watched shows in TV history. Overall, the show is quite good–there is the right balance of character development, character interaction, enjoyable dialogue, intriguing whodunnits, and inexplicable phobias that would keep you entertained.

The Walking Dead is an American post-apocalyptic horror television series developed for television by Frank Darabont and based on the ongoing graphic novel series of the same name by Robert Kirkman, Tony Moore and Charlie Adlard. The series centers on a small group of survivors led by Sheriff’s Deputy Rick Grimes and his family. I was intrigued by this one after reading about the comics version (and no, I don’t have the comics either–bummer). With all the zombie movies out there, what’s to like about this one? Dunno, but I have a good feeling about it. I saw this while on a bus ride home one day, and the first thing I thought was, “Two cops bonding in a cop-car, then one of them gets shot…I’ve read of this before.” My next thought was, “This is a pirated version–no way a bus company would have originals.” My third thought was, “Nice story.” My fourth thought was, “They’re getting to the good part just as I’m about to disembark.”

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 is a 2010 fantasy-drama film[6][3] directed by David Yates and the first of two films based on the novel of the same name by J. K. Rowling. It is the seventh instalment in the Harry Potter film series, written by Steve Kloves and produced by David Heyman, David Barron and Rowling. The story follows Harry Potter on a quest to find and destroy Lord Voldemort’s secret to immortality – the Horcruxes. The film stars Daniel Radcliffe as Harry Potter, alongside Rupert Grint and Emma Watson as Harry’s best friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger. The supporting cast features Ralph Fiennes, Helena Bonham Carter, and Alan Rickman. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. We all know this one–and we all want to see how it ends. I mean, we know how it ends, we just want to know how the fellows making the movie interpret it for us. While I normally favor books over cinema, I’m buying this just to nearly complete my collection. Or maybe I should just wait a few more months and get both parts one and two of the Deathly Hallows? Oh well.

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

