I’m a Sucker for These Things

(Typing this while listening to a Gregorian Chant Christmas CD.)

The “these things” in the title refer to lists. I’m a sucker for lists. Random lists, freaky lists, lists of things that I probably won’t do. Give me a list and I’ll give you the whole world.

From the land down under (Really, what bad thing can come from the country that’s also a continent?) comes this very practical list: 25 Clever Ideas to Make Life Easier. My beloved M’s favorite: Turn your muffin pan upside down, bake cookie-dough over the top and voila – you have cookie bowls for fruit or ice-cream. (See picture below.)

© somebody else

For another list: Ten Simple Rules for Dating My Daughter. My personal favorite is Rule 10: Be afraid. Be very afraid. It takes very little for me to mistake the sound of your car in the driveway for a chopper coming in over a rice paddy outside of Hanoi. When my Agent Orange starts acting up, the voices in my head frequently tell me to clean the guns as I wait for you to bring my daughter home. As soon as you pull into the driveway you should exit your car with both hands in plain sight. Speak the perimeter password, announce in a clear voice that you have brought my daughter home safely and early, then return to your car-there is no need for you to come inside. The camouflaged face at the window is mine.

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

